The baroque spectacle
full of drama and passion

Caravaggio & Bernini

15 October 2019 to 19 January 2020

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds

The baroque spectacle full of drama and passion

Curator Gudrun Swoboda about the special exhibition Caravaggio & Bernini

In fall 2019, a line-up of singular masterpieces is coming together in Vienna: paintings by Caravaggio, sculptures by Bernini, and other main works of early Roman Baroque will be shown at the Kunsthistorisches Museum. The Special Exhibition entitled Caravaggio & Bernini shows how stirring emotions all of a sudden came to be a subject matter for painting and sculpture. The show combines spectacular loans from all over the world with masterpieces from the holdings of the Kunsthistorisches Museum, which alone possesses three major paintings by Caravaggio.

15 OCTOBER 2019 TO 19 JANUARY 2020
Picture gallery, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

Rome. City of new ideas.

The Special Exhibition Caravaggio & Bernini gives a vivid impression of Rome as a center of the arts between 1600 and 1650. It was a city that attracted many talented artists, male and female. Starting with Caravaggio (1571–1610) and continued by Bernini (1598–1680), it was a place where new ideas developed that went on to reverberate throughout Europe.

Gian Lorenzo Bernini (Naples 1598 – 1680 Rome)
Medusa
Rome, 1638–40
Marble with traces of original patina, h. 46 cm
Rome, Musei Capitolini, Palazzo dei Conservatori, inv. no. S/1166
Photo: Andrea Jemolo

The discovery of feelings

Fear, horror, surprise, and passion: the representation of human feelings was a novelty in art. The Special Exhibition Caravaggio & Bernini sets out to explore these emotions in terms of some 70 international loans and works from the museum’s own holdings.

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (Milan 1571 – 1610 Porto Ercole)
Boy Bitten by a Lizard
Rome, c. 1597/98
Oil on canvas
65.8 × 49.5 cm
Florence, Fondazione di Studi di Storia dell’Arte Roberto Longhi, 1980 N.78

Caravaggio, Bernini & Co.

Caravaggio and Bernini show a lifelike picture of the human. The movements of the body are informed by the figures’ inner stirrings, their feelings. This conjunction of outer realism and inner sensation was something new. It became the defining characteristic of the Baroque. It is also the reason why the exhibition places painting and sculpture in dialogue with one another. It shows how Caravaggio and Bernini were understood by their contemporaries. The exhibition thus also affords an encounter with the art scene of the Rome of the period.

Gian Lorenzo Bernini (Naples 1598 – 1680 Rome)
St Sebastian
Rome, 1617
Marble, h. 98.8 cm
Private collection; on loan to Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid
Photo: Museo Nacional Thyssen- Bornemisza, Madrid

Questions & answers

about your visit to the exhibition

Due to the sensitivity of the objects, only a limited number of visitors can be allowed into the exhibition at a time. To provide opportunity for as many visitors as possible to see the Special Exhibition, to offer you a pleasant visitor experience, and to help with the advance planning of your visit we offer time slots. The time slot booked defines the time of admission to the Special Exhibition; the duration of your stay is not limited!

The time slot ticket alone does not give admission to the KHM! The Special Exhibition can only be visited in conjunction with a KMH admission ticket.

The time slot ticket gives you a time window for admission to the Special Exhibition. Once in the exhibition, you may stay as long as you wish. Visiting the museum at large, before or after, is only possible with a valid admission ticket.

You can buy the ticket beforehand through our online shop; you will be receiving your ticket digitally or as a print@home ticket. In addition, ticket desks to obtain time slot tickets by availability will be situated outside and inside the museum, and, for impulse buyers, right outside the Special Exhibition.

With your online ticket purchase, you will also book a time slot defining a time window for admission to the exhibition. You may visit the other KHM collections before or after visiting the Special Exhibition during the regular opening hours. Please note that your museum ticket is for one-time admission.

Time slot ticket for the special exhibition – The time slot ticket is valid only in combination with an admission ticket, separate admission ticket required. 
Premium Ticket—just pick a date, time of day is flexible 
Caravaggio & Bernini at Night—Special Ticket for Friday nights (limited offer!)
Annual Pass—Get your free Time-Slot-Ticket at the desk outside the Special Exhibition or pre-book your desired time slot online for € 5.00.

Every visitor needs a time slot ticket. If you already have an admission ticket to the Kunsthistorisches Museum, you can buy a time slot, by availability, at the ticket desk. Annual Pass holders, Friends of KHM, and ICOM Card holders get a free time slot ticket from September 2019, by availability, at the ticket desk. If you want to pre-book your time slot ticket, you can do so online (price: € 5.00).

Admission is free for children and teenagers under 19. If accompanied by an adult holding an online ticket, no separate ticket or waiting in line is needed. Children and teenagers are registered right at the entrance and can directly enter the exhibition with their accompanying adults. Without accompanying adult a time slot ticket is required; no admission for unaccompanied children and teenagers under 14.

Treat yourself to our special offer Caravaggio & Bernini at Night and enjoy the Special Exhibition outside regular museum hours. The offer includes admission, a guided tour, and a champagne reception. Tours will be held in German and English.

You will be receiving your online ticket by e-mail as a mobile ticket to be stored in your Wallet or for printing out as a print@home ticket.

The time slot defines an interval for admission to the Special Exhibition. The Special Exhibition is shown on the first floor, access is through Room IV. Please plan for enough time to check in your coats and bags and get to the 1st floor; we recommend arriving at the Kunsthistorisches Museum 30 minutes ahead of your time slot. The duration of your visit to the exhibition may be freely chosen. Please note that interrupting your visit is not possible.

If you want to visit to exhibition with a group of ten or more please book in advance and specify the size of your group and preferred time of your visit at booking.tourist@khm.at.

A time slot ticket is also required for school groups.

Tickets for guided overview tours are available online and at the museum ticket desks. Please not that there is a limited number of participants per tour.

For private guided tours please contact us at kunstvermittlung@khm.at or by phone at +43 1 525 24 - 5202 (Mon–Fri, 9 a.m.–4 p.m.).

When booking a private tour through the special exhibition, you do not have to reserve a separate time slot ticket!

Guided tour of the special exhibition Caravaggio & Bernini

When booking a private tour through the special exhibition, you do not have to reserve a separate time slot ticket!

Das Barockspektakel voll Dramatik und Leidenschaft

Caravaggio & Bernini

15. OKTOBER 2019 BIS 19. JÄNNER 2020

Tage
Stunden
Minuten
Sekunden

Das Barock­spektakel voll Dramatik und Leidenschaft

Kuratorin Gudrun Swoboda über die Sonderausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini

Im Herbst 2019 treffen besondere Meisterwerke in Wien zusammen: Gemälde von Caravaggio, Skulpturen von Bernini sowie weitere Hauptwerke des römischen Frühbarocks sind erstmals gemeinsam im Kunsthistorischen Museum zu sehen. Die Ausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini zeigt, wie intensive Gefühle plötzlich zur Aufgabe für Malerei und Skulptur werden. Sie vereint spektakuläre Leihgaben aus aller Welt mit den Meisterwerken des Kunsthistorischen Museums, das allein drei Gemälde Caravaggios besitzt.

15. Oktober 2019 bis 19. Jänner 2020
Gemäldegalerie, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

Rom. Stadt der neuen Ideen.

In der Ausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini wird das künstlerische Zentrum Rom zwischen 1600 und 1650 erlebbar. Es war Anziehungspunkt für viele talentierte Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Begonnen von Caravaggio (1571–1610) und fortgesetzt von Bernini (1598–1680), entwickelten sich dort neue Ideen, die auf ganz Europa einwirkten.

Gian Lorenzo Bernini (Neapel 1598 – 1680 Rom)
Medusa
Rom, 1638–1640
Marmor mit Spuren einer ursprünglichen Patina, H. 46 cm
Rom, Musei Capitolini, Palazzo dei Conservatori, Inv.-Nr. S/1166
Foto: Andrea Jemolo

Die Entdeckung der Gefühle

Angst, Schrecken, Überraschung und Leidenschaft: die Darstellung von menschlichen Gefühlen war neu in der Kunst. Die Ausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini widmet sich diesen Emotionen anhand von rund 70 internationalen Leihgaben und Werken aus eigenem Bestand.

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (Mailand 1571 – 1610 Porto Ercole)
Knabe, von einer Eidechse gebissen
Um 1597/98
Leinwand 65,8 × 49,5 cm
Florenz, Fondazione di Studi di Storia dell'Arte Roberto Longhi, Inv.-Nr. 1980 N.78

Caravaggio, Bernini & Co.

Caravaggio und Bernini zeigen den Menschen wirklichkeitsnah. Bei der Darstellung von Körpern folgen die Bewegungen der inneren Regung der Figuren, ihrem Fühlen. Diese Verbindung von Wirklichkeit und Empfindung war neuartig. Sie wurde zum Merkmal des Barock. In der Ausstellung werden Skulptur und Malerei auch deshalb in Dialog gesetzt. Es zeigt sich darin, wie Caravaggio und Bernini von den Zeitgenossen verstanden wurden. Die Ausstellung bietet somit auch eine Begegnung mit der Kunstszene des damaligen Rom.

Gian Lorenzo Bernini (Neapel 1598 – 1680 Rom)
Hl. Sebastian
Rom, 1617
Marmor, H. 98,8 cm
Privatbesitz; als Leihgabe im Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid
Foto: Museo Nacional Thyssen- Bornemisza, Madrid

Fragen und Antworten

zum Ausstellungsbesuch

Aufgrund der Sensibilität der Objekte kann nur eine bestimmte Maximalanzahl an Gästen gleichzeitig in die Ausstellung. Um so vielen BesucherInnen wie möglich die Gelegenheit zu geben, diese Sonderausstellung zu sehen, Ihnen ein angenehmes Besuchserlebnis bieten zu können und damit Sie schon vorab den Besuch planen können, bieten wir Timeslots an. Der gebuchte Timeslot regelt den Zeitpunkt des Eintritts in die Sonderausstellung, der Ausstellungsbesuch selbst ist zeitlich nicht begrenzt!

Das Timeslot-Ticket allein ist kein Eintrittsticket für das KHM! Die Sonderausstellung kann nur mit einem Eintrittsticket für das KHM besucht werden.

Das Timeslot-Ticket (Zeitfenster-Ticket) regelt den Zeitpunkt des Zutritts zur Sonderausstellung. In der Ausstellung selbst können Sie unbegrenzt verweilen. Der Besuch des Museums ist davor und danach mit gültigem Ticket möglich.

Das Ticket können Sie vorab über den Online-Shop erwerben, Sie erhalten das Ticket digital oder als print@home-Ticket. Zusätzlich stehen Ihnen für den Kauf der Tickets ab September die Kassen im Museum sowie für Kurzentschlossene vor der Sonderausstellung nach Verfügbarkeit  zur Verfügung.

Bei Ihrem Online-Kauf buchen Sie auch einen Timeslot, der den Besuchsantritt für die Sonderausstellung definiert. Sie können davor oder anschließend die weiteren Sammlungen des Kunsthistorischen Museums zu den regulären Öffnungszeiten besuchen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Ticket ein Einmaleintrittsticket ist.

Jeder Gast benötigt ein Timeslot-Ticket. Besitzen Sie bereits eine Eintrittskarte für das Kunsthistorische Museum, können Sie an der Kassa ein Timeslot-Ticket nach Verfügbarkeit lösen. Jahreskarten-BesitzerInnen, FreundInnen des KHM-Museumsverbands und ICOM-Karten- BesitzerInnen erhalten ein kostenloses Timeslot-Ticket ab September 2019 nach Verfügbarkeit an den Kassen. Möchten Sie das Timeslot-Ticket vorreservieren, so können Sie das online um € 5 tun.

Jugendliche unter 19 Jahren haben freien Eintritt. Wenn sie in Begleitung von Erwachsenen mit einem Online-Ticket kommen, ist kein separates Ticket bzw. Anstellen an der Kassa erforderlich. Die Jugendlichen werden am Einlass erfasst und gehen mit ihren erwachsenen BegleiterInnen direkt in die Sonderausstellung. Ohne Begleitung ist ein Timeslot-Ticket erforderlich, unter 14 Jahren kein Zutritt ohne Begleitung.

Nutzen Sie unser Angebot Caravaggio & Bernini at Night und genießen Sie die Sonderausstellung außerhalb der regulären Öffnungszeiten inklusive Eintritt, Führung und Sektempfang. Die Führungen werden in deutscher und englischer Sprache angeboten.

Sie erhalten das Online-Ticket per E-Mail als mobiles Ticket und können es in Ihrer Wallet speichern bzw. als print@home-Ticket ausdrucken.

Der Timeslot gibt den Zeitpunkt zum Zutritt zur Sonderausstellung an. Die Sonderausstellung befindet sich im 1. Stock, der Zutritt ist über Saal IV. Bitte planen Sie ausreichend Zeit ein, um die Garderobe abzugeben und in den 1. Stock zu gelangen, wir empfehlen 30 Mintuten vor Beginn des Timeslots im Kunsthistorischen Museum zu sein. Die Besuchsdauer in der Ausstellung kann selbst gewählt werden. Beachten Sie, dass eine Unterbrechung des Besuchs nicht möglich ist.

Falls Sie die Ausstellung in einer Gruppe von 10 oder mehr Personen besuchen möchten, bitten wir um Voranmeldung unter Angabe von Gruppengröße und gewünschter Besuchszeit unter booking.tourist@khm.at.

Auch Schulgruppen benötigen ein Timeslot-Ticket.

Tickets für die öffentlichen Überblicksführungen erhalten Sie online und an den Museumskassen. Die TeilnehmerInnenanzahl ist limitiert.

Für private Führungen kontaktieren Sie uns unter kunstvermittlung@khm.at oder Mo–Fr, 9–16 Uhr telefonisch: +43 1 525 24 - 5202

Bei Buchung einer Privatführung durch die Sonderausstellung ist Ihr Timeslot bereits für Sie reserviert. Kein separates Timeslot-Ticket erforderlich.

Eine Führung durch die Sonder­ausstellung Caravaggio & Bernini

Entdecken Sie unser Rahmenprogramm oder buchen Sie Ihre private Führung
T +43 1 525 24 - 5202 sowie kunstvermittlung@khm.at

Bei Buchung einer Privatführung durch die Sonderausstellung ist Ihr Timeslot bereits für Sie reserviert.
Kein separates Timeslot-Ticket erforderlich.